Ocean Colada Smoothie

20170409_091914-01

Hello my dears! No time for breakfast? Make a smoothie! I love this combination of
bananas and pineapple – a little taste of the tropics to start my
morning.

It’s like a travel through the Caribbean without having to get out of your kitchen. So when I discovered this Pina Colada Smoothie I knew I was into something awesome. I gave the name Ocean Colada because of amazing color I reached with blue Spirulina.

Pineapples are rich in enzymes, which is great for your digestive system. It’s also an excellent source of vitamin C. I like to throw in some chia seeds, but it’s completely optional. Along with bananas, this smoothie is high in fiber, vitamins and a perfect start to your day.

The secret to making this the creamiest tropical pina colada? Freezing the pineapple chunks before making the smoothie. I like to keep chunks of fruit in my freezer (bananas and pineapples are my favorites!) because when you use frozen fruit  for your smoothies there’s no need to use ice, so you don’t end up watering it down, actually just the opposite! Your smoothie ends up being super creamy and almost  like an ice cream.
Transport yourself to an island paradise with this tropical colada smoothie in less than 15 min. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp chia seed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp shredded coconut
  • pinch of blue Spirulina

 Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Thanks for taking a peek inside my Kats Healthy Corner. Xxx

Post by Katarina Maritato

Leave a Reply

