American pancakes with little changes

pankakes Photography by Alberto Maritato

Hello my dears! How you doing so far? Well, I had very interesting day making these pancakes.

I went to the market to buy some flour for my pancakes, but my Spanish is not too good still and I bought by mistake flour named Gofio de Trigo. I thought is a integral flour made from wheat or rye but actually it is a kind of traditional flour from Canary Island known as a toasted flour. 

My husband told me that Gofio they usually use for drink but he is not sure if I can use it for making pancakes. Oh,no!!! I really wanted to make some pancakes this afternoon and I didn’t give up. I started researching on internet about Gofio but everything was in Spanish! However, I understood that I can use it for giving flavor to the meals and making cakes.

Another thing found out about Gofio are the benefits. It is a food very rich in vitamins (mainly vitamins of group B, like B1, B2 and B2, besides vitamin C, A and D) and also in minerals (like iron, calcium , Magnesium, potassium, sodium and zinc).

I made it, tried it and love it! Have a nice day! Big kiss

Here is the recipe:

  1. Gofio flour or any other you like (quantity you usually use) I used 200g
  2. 150ml plant milk and 150ml water 
  3. 1 tsp Stevia sweetener
  4. 1 tsp backing powder 
  5. 1/2 tsp salt
  6. 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  7. splash of cinnamon 

Direction:

In large bowl stir well flour, baking powder, salt, sweetener, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. Then add milk and water little by little with constantly mixing. Heat a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat and add a drop of oil. Add a ladle of batter (or two if your frying pan is big enough to cook two pancakes at the same time). Cook both sides are golden brown and the pancake has risen to about 1cm (½in) thick.                       Serve with Maple topping or Agave syrup, fruits and nuts. 

Post by Katarina Maritato

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristina says:

    Mmm das sieht gut aus! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

